Championship Calendar 2017/18

Island Championship Information 

Senior Island Rotation is South to North.
Junior Island Rotation is South to Central to North.
Last updated October 18, 2017. 

FALL SPORTS

2016/17
Info
Last Year
2017/18
Host Area
This Year
2017/18
Date/Location
This Year
Vancouver Island Zone Rep /
Tournament Contact
2018/19
Host Area
Next Year
Cross Country
Grades 9 to 12
Wednesday
October 26
Beaver Lake Victoria
South Wednesday
October 25
Beaver Lake Victoria
Zone Rep:  Tessa Kubicek
tkubicek@sd61.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:

Tessa Kubicek (Oak Bay)
South
SG AA
Field Hockey
October 21/22
Brentwood
South October 27/28
GNS

Zone Rep:  Nancy Mollenhauer
nancy.mollenhauer@smus.ca
Tournament Contact:
Bunny Hughes
vhughes@mygns.ca
North
SG AAA
Field Hockey
October 27 – 29
Oak Bay
North November 3/4
Cowichan
Zone Rep:  Perri Espeseth
perriespeseth@gmail.com
Tournament Contact:
Perri Espeseth
South
Tier 2
Field Hockey
Monday
October 24
Dover Bay
North Monday
October 30
Dover Bay
Tournament Contact:
Laura Harrison
lharrison@sd68.bc.ca
South
Aquatics Sunday
November 6
Saanich Commonwealth Place
North Sunday
October 22
Nanaimo Aquatics Centre
Zone Rep:  Laurel Laturnus
vihighschoolswimming@gmail.com
Tournament Contact:
Laurel Laturnus
South
SB A
Soccer
Wednesday/Thursday
October 19/20
Duncan Christian
South Tuesday/Wednesday
October 17/18

St. Andrew’s
Zone Rep:  Tom Veenstra
inseine2@gmail.com
Tournament Contact: 
Mark Cristante
mcristante@cisdv.bc.ca
North
SB AA
Soccer
Wednesday/Thursday
November 9/10
Carihi
South Wednesday/Thursday
November 8/9
SMUS
Zone Reps:  John Jepson
john.jepson@sd72.bc.ca
Jackie Cunningham
jcunningham@sd63.bc.ca
Tournament Contacts:
Lindsay Brooke
lindsay.brooke@smus.ca
Jackie Cunningham
North
SB AAA
Soccer
Wednesday/Thursday
November 9/10
Oak Bay
North Wednesday/Thursday
November 8/9
Dover Bay
Zone Reps:  Jackie Cunningham
jcunningham@sd63.bc.ca
John Jepson

john.jepson@sd72.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:
Iain Baird
ibaird@sd68.bc.ca

South
JB
Soccer
Monday/Tuesday
October 31/Nov 1
Brentwood
North Monday/Tuesday
November 6/7
Carihi
Tournament Contact:
John Jepson
john.jepson@sd72.bc.ca
South
SB A
Volleyball
Wednesday
November 9
Duncan Christian
North Wednesday
November 8
Duncan Christian
Zone Rep:  Tom Veenstra
inseine2@gmail.com
Tournament Contact:
Tom Veenstra
South
SB AA
Volleyball
November 18/19
Mark Isfeld
South November 17/18
SMUS
Zone Rep:  Neil Ryan
neil.ryan@pacificchristian.ca

Tournament Contact:

Lindsay Brooke
lindsay.brooke@smus.ca
North
SB AAA
Volleyball
November 18/19
Dover Bay
South November 17/18
Oak Bay

Zone Rep:  Al Carmichael
acarmichael@sd61.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:

Al Carmichael
North
SG A
Volleyball
November 18/19
Duncan Christian
North November 17/18
Chemainus
Zone Rep:  TomVeenstra
inseine2@gmail.com
Tournament Contact:
Kyle Peruniak
kperuniak@sd79.bc.ca
South
SG AA
Volleyball
November 18/19
Parkland
North November 17/18
John Barsby
Zone Rep:  Jill Fougner
jill.fougner@brentwood.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:
Craig Letourneau
cletourneau@sd68.bc.ca
South
SG AAA
Volleyball
November 18/19
SMUS
North November 17/18
Timberline
Zone Rep:  Terry Philp
terry.philp@sd72.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:
Terry Philp
South
SG AAAA
Volleyball
November 18/19
Mt. Doug
North November 17/18
Dover Bay
Zone Rep:  Dave Nelson
dnelson@sd68.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:
Dave Nelson
South
JB
Volleyball
November 18/19
Claremont
North November 10/11
Dover Bay
Tournament Contact:
Josie Webb
jwebb@sd68.bc.ca
South
JG
Volleyball
November 18/19
Timberline
South November 17/18
Claremont
Tournament Contact:
Scott Freeburn
sfreeburn@sd63.bc.ca

Central
Football N/A   N/A  Zone Rep:  Zac Kremler (Mt. Doug)
zac.kremler@gov.bc.ca
 

WINTER SPORTS… Not updated.

2015/16
Info
Last Year
2016/17
Host Area
This Year
UPCOMING
2016/17
Date/Location
Vancouver Island Zone Rep /
Tournament Contact
2017/18
Host Area
Next Year
JB
Basketball
February 18 – 20
Carihi
South February 16 – 18
Belmont
Tournament Contact:
Curt Spaven
cspaven@sd62.bc.ca
Central
JG
Basketball
February 18 – 20
Royal Bay
Central February 16 – 18
Cowichan
Tournament Contact:
Sandeep Heer
buffdeep@hotmail.com
North
SG A
Basketball
February 26
GNS
North February 17/18
Duncan Christian
Zone Rep:  Michelle Nederlof
mnederlof@duncanchristian.com
Tournament Contacts:
Michelle Nederlof and
Tom Veenstra
inseine2@gmail.com
South
SG AA
Basketball
February 18 – 20
Wellington
South February 16 – 18
Lambrick Park
Zone Rep:  Lindsay Brooke
lindsay.brooke@smus.ca
Tournament Contact:
Rocky Vitale
rvitale@sd61.bc.ca
North
SG AAA
Basketball
February 18 – 20
Claremont
North February 16 – 18
Dover Bay
Zone Rep:  Rob Kinnear  (Oak Bay)
rkinnear@uvic.ca
Tournament Contact:
Rick Hart
rick_hart9@hotmail.com 
South
SB A
Basketball
February 25 – 27
Duncan Christian
North February 24/25
Duncan Christian
Zone Rep:  Tom Veenstra
inseine2@gmail.com
Tournament Contact: 
Tom Veenstra
South
SB AA
Basketball
February 25 – 27
SMUS
North February 23 – 25
Brentwood
Zone Rep:  Aaron Buckham  (Parkland)
abuckham@sd63.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:
Blake Gage
blake.gage@brentwood.bc.ca
South
SB AAA
Basketball
February 25 – 27
Nanaimo District
South February 23 – 25
Vic High
Zone Rep:  Aaron Buckham  (Parkland)
abuckham@sd63.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:
Greg Pitre
gpitre@sd61.bc.ca
North
SB AAAA
Basketball
February 25 – 27
Dover Bay
South February 23 – 25
Belmont

 
Zone Rep:  Aaron Buckham  (Parkland)
abuckham@sd63.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:
Kevin Brown
knbrown211@gmail.com 
North
Curling February 13/14
Victoria Curling Club
North January 28/29
Qualicum Curling Club
Zone Rep:  Ann Fyfe  (Ballenas)
afyfe@sd69.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:
Ann Fyfe
South
Gymnastics Friday
February 19
Port Alberni
North January 28/29
Comox @ Chimo Gymnastics Club
Zone Rep:  Ken Holley  (Brooks)
ken.holley@sd47.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:
Toni Vance
chimoheadcoachtoni@gmail.com
South
Wrestling February 12/13
Gulf Islands
South February 17/18
Esquimalt

Zone Rep:  Andrew Tuck  (Wellington)
nanaimowrestling@gmail.com
Tournament Contact:
Mike Thompson
mbthompson@sd61.bc.ca
North

SPRING SPORTS… Not updated.

2015/16
Info
Last Year
2016/17
Host Area
This Year
UPCOMING
2016/17
Date/Location
Vancouver Island Zone Rep / Tournament Contact 2017/18
Host Area
Next Year
Badminton Wednesday
May 18
SMUS
North Thursday, May 11
Dover Bay
Zone Rep:  Jeff Hunt
jeff.hunt@smus.ca
Tournament Contact:
Janice Walker
doglesswalker@gmail.com
South
Mountain Biking BC’s only.   BC’s only. Zone Rep:  Justin Mark (Cedar)
mar3221@gmail.com
Golf A Thursday
May 26
Pheasant Glen 
North Wednesday/Thursday
May 24/25
Myrtle Point
Powell River
Zone Rep:  David Hyde-Lay
dhl@shawnigan.ca
Tournament Contact:
Michael Austin
michael.austin@sd47.bc.ca
South
Golf AA Thursday
May 26
Pheasant Glen
North Wednesday/Thursday
May 24/25
Myrtle Point
Powell River
Zone Rep:  David Hyde-Lay
dhl@shawnigan.ca
Tournament Contact:
Michael Austin
michael.austin@sd47.bc.ca
South
Golf AAA Thursday
May 19
Gorge Vale Golf Club
North Tuesday, May 23
Storey Creek
Campbell River
Zone Rep:  Ken Lowe
klowe@sd62.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:
Paul Murphy
paul.murphy@sd72.bc.ca
South
JG Soccer May 12/13
Frances Kelsey
North Thursday/Friday
May 11/12
Dover Bay
Tournament Contacts:
Gunnar Myhrer
gmyhrer@sd68.bc.ca
Joel Smith
jsmith02@sd68.bc.ca
South
SG A Soccer May 13/14
North Island Secondary
South Friday/Saturday
May 12/13
St. Andrew’s
Zone Rep:  Tom Veenstra
inseine2@gmail.com
Tournament Contact:
Dean Anderson
danderson@cisdv.bc.ca
North
SG AA Soccer May 16/17
SMUS
North Monday/Tuesday
May 15/16
Frances Kelsey
Zone Reps:  Jonathan Bos
jon.bos@sd71.bc.ca
Jackie Cunningham
jcunningham@sd63.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:
Brian Johnston
johnstonmackay@shaw.ca
South
SG AAA Soccer May 16/17
Dover Bay
South Monday/Tuesday
May 15/16
Stelly’s
Zone Reps:  Jackie Cunningham
jcunningham@sd63.bc.ca
Jonathan Bos
jon.bos@sd71.bc.ca
Tournament Contact:
Jackie Cunningham
North
Tennis AA May 16
Brentwood
North Monday, May 15
Brentwood
Zone Rep:  Stewart Candelaria
ssc@shawnigan.ca
Tournament Contact:
Marci McLean
marci.mclean@brentwood.bc.ca
South
Tennis AAA May 11 & 16
Victoria
Lambrick Park &
Henderson Park
South Tuesday/Wednesday
May 9/10
Victoria
Lambrick Park &
Henderson Park
Zone Rep:  Stewart Candelaria
ssc@shawnigan.ca
Tournament Contact:
Derek Horton (Mt. Doug)
dhorton@sd61.bc.ca
North
JB Rugby May 17 North Monday & Thursday
May 15 & May 18
Tournament Contact:
Ian Hyde-Lay
ian.hyde-lay@smus.ca
South
SB Rugby May 17  North Thursday
May 18
Zone Rep:  Ian Hyde-Lay
ian.hyde-lay@smus.ca
Zone Rep:  Ken Erikson (Vanier)
ken.erikson@sd71.bc.ca
South
Track & Field
Grades 9 t0 12
May 18/19
UVIC
South Wednesday/Thursday
May 17/18
UVIC
Zone Rep:  Angela McLeish
angelamcleish@gmail.com
Meet Director:  Derek Horton (Mt. Doug)
dhorton@sd61.bc.ca
South

Print Friendly