Championship Calendar 2023/24

Island Championship Information 

Senior Island Rotation is South to North.
Junior Island Rotation is South to Central to North.
Last updated September 7, 2023

ISLAND CHAMPIONSHIP CALENDAR 2023/2024

Fall Sports 2022/23
Info
Last Year
2023/24
Host Area
This Year
2023/24
Date/Location
This Year
Tournament Contact
2024/25
Host Area
Next Year
Cross Country
Grades 9 to 12
Wednesday, Oct  19
Port Alberni
South

Wednesday, October 18 Beaver Lake

Tournament Contact: Tessa Kubicek tkubicek@sd61.bc.ca

North
SG AA
Field Hockey

Friday, October 21

SMUS

North Friday, October 20
Shawnigan Lake

Tournament Contact:
Tim Murdy tmurdy@shawnigan.ca
South
SG AAA
Field Hockey
October 28-29
Cowichan
South October 27
Oak Bay

Tournament Contact:              Rich Fast rfast@sd61.bc.ca

North
Tier 2
Field Hockey
Tuesday October 25th
@ UVic
North

Tuesday, October 24

UVic

Tournament Contact:

North
Aquatics

Saturday, October 22

Nanaimo Aquatic Centre

South

Sunday, October 22

Commonwealth Pool, Victoria

Tournament Contact: Shelly Johnston vihighschoolswimming@gmail.com

North
SB A
Soccer
Monday/Tuesday
October 17/18
St. Andrews
North

October 16 & 17

QMS

Tournament Contact: Lucy Smith

lsmith@qms.bc.ca

South
SB AA
Soccer
Monday/Tuesday
November 7-8
GNS
North Monday/Tuesday
November 6-7
Mark Isfeld
Tournament Contact:
Esther Bayles Esther.Bayles@sd71.bc.ca
South
SB AAA
Soccer
Wednesday/Thursday
November 9-10
Royal Bay
North

Wednesday/Thursday
November 8-9

NDSS

Tournament Contact:
Graham Giske graham.giske@sd68.bc.ca
South
JB
Soccer
Monday/Tuesday
October 31 – Nov 1
SMUS
South Monday/Tuesday
October 30-31
Carihi
Tournament Contact:
Dana Dunsmore, dana.dunsmore@sd72.bc.ca
South
SB A
Volleyball
Tuesday November 15
St. Andrews 
North

Wed/Thurs             Nov. 15 – 16 NCS

Tournament Contact: Breanne Quist breanne.quist@ncsnanaimo.com

South
SB AA
Volleyball
Friday/Saturday
November 18-19
Lambrick
North Friday/Saturday
November 17-18 Mark Isfeld
Tournament Contact:
Colin Cunningham colin.cunningham@sd71.bc.ca
South
SB AAA
Volleyball
Friday/Saturday
November 18-19
Royal Bay
South

Friday/Saturday
November 17-18 GP Vanier

Tournament Contact:  David Mayert

 

North
SG A
Volleyball
Wednesday/Thursday
November 16-17
NCS
North Wednesday/Thursday
November 15 – 16 Duncan Christian
Tournament Contact:
Tom Veenstra t.veenstra@duncanchristian.com
South
SG AA
Volleyball
Friday/Saturday
November 18-19
John Barsby
South Friday/Saturday
November 17-18
PCS
Tournament Contact: John Stewart john.stewart@pacificchristian.ca
North
SG AAA
Volleyball
Friday/Saturday
November 18-19
Carihi
South Friday/Saturday
November 17-18
Vic High

Tournament Contact:
Jean Morrison jemorrison@sd61.bc.ca
North
SG AAAA
Volleyball
Friday/Saturday
November 18-19
Oak Bay
North Friday/Saturday
November 17-18
Dover Bay
Tournament Contact:
 Heidi McWhinnie, hmcwhinnie@sd68.bc.ca
North
JB
Volleyball
Wednesday/Thursday
November 9-10
Belmont
Central Tuesday/Wednesday
November 14 – 15
NDSS

Tournament Contact:
Ryan Orton rorton@sd68.bc.ca Shane Hyde Shane.Hyde@viu.ca

North
JG
Volleyball
Monday/Tuesday
November 7-8
Brentwood
North Monday/Tuesday
November 6-7
Ballenas

Tournament Contact: Daryl Britz dbritz@sd69.bc.ca

South
Football N/A   N/A  Zone Rep:  Zac Kremler (Mt. Doug)
zac.kremler@gov.bc.ca
 
Winter Sports 2022/23
Info
Last Year
2023/24
Host Area
This Year
2023/24
Date/Location
This Year
Vancouver Island Zone Rep /
Tournament Contact
2024/25 Host Area Next Year
JB
Basketball
February 16-18  Dover Bay South February 15 -17 Oak Bay Tournament Contact: Rich Fast rfast@sd61.bc.ca Central
JG
Basketball
February 16-18  SMUS North  February 15 – 17 Mark Isfeld Tournament Contact: Colin Cunningham ccunningham@sd71.bc.ca South
Grade 9 Boys
Basketball
February 24-25      Oak Bay Central February 23- 24 Shawnigan Lake Tournament Contacts: Tim Murdy tmurdy@shawnigan.ca North
SG A
Basketball
February 13-14     St. Margarets

 

North February 12 – 13 DCS

Tournament Contact: Tom Veenstra t.veenstra@duncanchristian.com

South
SG AA
Basketball
February 16-18 Brentwood South February 15 – 17 Lambrick Park Tournament Contact: Gary Baker gbaker@sd61.bc.ca & Chris Ball cball@sd61.bc.ca North
SG AAA
Basketball
February 16-18    Mark Isfeld South February 15 – 17 SMUS Tournament Contact: Lindsay Brooke lindsay.brooke@smus.ca North
SG AAAA
Basketball
February 16-18    Claremont North

February 15 – 17

NDSS

Tournament Contact: Graham Giske graham.giske@sd68.bc.ca South
SB A
Basketball
February 23 -25    NCS South February 22 – 24 DCS Tournament Contact: Tom Veenstra t.veenstra@duncanchristian.com

 

 

North
SB AA
Basketball
February 23 -25    SMUS North February 22 – 24 Brentwood Tournament Contact: Blake Gage blake.gage@brentwood.bc.ca South
SB AAA
Basketball
February 23 -25   Stelly’s North February 22 – 24 Wellington Tournament Contact: Scott Robertson srobertson@sd68.bc.ca South
SB AAAA
Basketball
February 23 -25   Cowichan South February 22 – 24 Oak Bay Tournament Contact:
Rich Fast rfast@sd61.bc.ca
North
Curling February 3/4 or 10/11 Kwalikum South Feb 2/3 or 9/10 Tournament Contact: TBD
North
Wrestling February 10     QMS South February 9-10 Spectrum Tournament Contact: Dom Butcher dobutcher@sd61.bc.ca North
SPRING SPORTS
2022/23
Info
Last Year
2023/24 Host Area This Year 2023/24
Date/Location
This Year
Vancouver Island Zone Rep / Tournament Contact 2024/25 Host Area Next Year
Badminton May 5 Dover Bay South

May 10 Mt. Doug

Tournament Contact: 
Chris Ball cball@sd61.bc.ca
North
Mountain Biking BC’s only.   BC’s only. Zone Rep:  Chris Dickinson  
Golf A  May 17 Nanaimo Christian School South  May 21, 22 & 23 Shawnigan Lake Tournament Contact:  David Hyde-Lay
dhl@shawnigan.ca

North
Golf AA May 24 Arbutus Ridge – Shawnigan South May 22 Shawnigan Lake @ Arbutus Ridge Tournament Contact:  David Hyde-Lay
dhl@shawnigan.ca
North
Golf AAA May 23 Ballenas South

May 16 Belmont @ Gorge Golf Course

Tournament Contact: Ken Lowe (Belmont)
klowe@sd62.bc.ca
North
JG Soccer May 11 – 12 SMUS Central May 9-10 GISS Tournament Contact: Brittany Allan ballan@sd64.org North
SG A Soccer May 8-9 St. Margarets North May 6-7 QMS Tournament Contact: Lucy Smith lsmith@qms.bc.ca
South
SG AA Soccer May 15 – 16 Mark Isfeld South May 13-14 Stelly’s Tournament Contact: Brad Hart bhart@saanichschools.ca North
SG AAA Soccer May 15 – 16 Belmont North  May 13-14 NDSS Tournament Contacts: Graham Giske graham.giske@sd68.bc.ca
South
Tennis AA Monday
May 8
Brentwood
South May 6-7 Brentwood Tournament Contact: Blake Gage blake.gage@brentwood.bc.ca

 

North
Tennis AAA     N/A N/A (Based on League Results)  
Rugby Senior Boys AA/AAA/AAAA May 25 Victoria North May 23 Shawnigan Tournament Contact: Tim Murdy tmurdy@shawnigan.ca South
Rugby 15’s Girls AA/AAA     N/A Based on League Results  
Rugby 7’s Senior Boys May 17 – 18 Stelly’s  North May 13-14 Vanier Tournament Contact: David Mayert david.mayert@sd71.bc.ca South
Rugby 7’s Girls May 17 – 18 NDSS South May 13-14 Esquimalt Tournament Contact: Mike Thompson mbthompson@sd61.bc.ca  North

Rugby 7’s Junior Boys

May 15-16 Stelly’s North May 13-14 Vanier Tournament Contact: David Mayert david.mayert@sd71.bc.ca South

Rugby 15’s Junior Boys

May 25 Victoria Central May 23 Shawnigan Lake Tournament Contact: Tim Murdy tmurdy@shawnigan.ca North
Track & Field
Grades 8 to 12
May 24 – 25 Belmont North May 21-22 Port Alberni

Tournament Contacts: Anna Jack ajack@sd70.bc.ca

North
Ultimate AA May 10 GNS North May 6 Ucluelet  Tournament Contact: Mike Rhodes mrhodes@sd70.bc.ca  South
Ultimate AAA May 9 Dover Bay (Merle Logan turf fields) South

May 6-7 Edward Milne

Tournament Contact: EvanDudzik edudzik@sd62.bc.ca  North

Print Friendly, PDF & Email