Contacts

V.I.S.S.A.A.
VANCOUVER ISLAND SECONDARY SCHOOLS ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION

2022-23 VISSAA CONTACTS
Last updated September 20, 2022

VISSAA Executive

Position Name Location Phone (250)
Email
President Lindsay Brooke SMUS 370-6131 lindsay.brooke@smus.ca
Past President Darren Reisig Claremont 656-5221 dreisig@saanichschools.ca
VP – South
Darren Reisig Claremont 656-5221 dreisig@saanichschools.ca
VP – Central
Blake Gage
Brentwood College
743-5521  blake.gage@brentwood.bc.ca
VP – North
Nicole McRae Wellington 758-9191 nmcrae@sd68.bc.ca
Treasurer Adam Johnston
Frances Kelsey
743-6916 ajohnston@sd79.bc.ca
Secretary  Blake Gage Brentwood College  743-5521 blake.gage@brentwood.bc.ca

VISSAA (Island Assistant)
athleticassistant@gmail.com

If any information is incorrect, please email athleticassistant@gmail.com with correct information.

BCSS Committees – Island Reps

Role Name School Email
BCSS Board Executive Member Lindsay Brooke SMUS lindsay.brooke@smus.ca
BCSS Board Executive Member Jim Lamond SD62 jlamond@sd62.bc.ca
Legislative Assembly Phil Ohl Spectrum pohl@sd61.bc.ca
Legislative Assembly Darren Reisig Claremont dreisig@saanichschools.ca
Legislative Assembly Nicole McRae Wellington nmcrae@sd68.bc.ca
Sport Advisory Reps Name School Email
Aquatics Shelly Johnson Community vihighschoolswimming@gmail.com
Cross Country Tessa Kubicek Oak Bay tkubicek@sd61.bc.ca
Field Hockey Andi Conroy Shawnigan  aconroy@shawnigan.ca
Soccer Rich Fast Oak Bay rfast@sd61.bc.ca
Volleyball Dave Nelson Dover Bay dnelson@sd68.bc.ca
Basketball Chris Ball Mt. Doug cball@sd61.bc.ca
Curling Kelly Brett Qualicum brettfamily1@gmail.com
Ski/Snowboard David Graham Mark Isfeld david.graham@sd71.bc.ca
Wrestling Nick Zuback Queen Margarets nzuback@qms.bc.ca
Badminton Lawrence Wong SMUS lawrence.wong@smus.ca
Golf Daryl Britz Ballenas dbritz@sd69.bc.ca
Mountain Biking David Weiss GP Vanier David.Weiss@sd71.bc.ca
Tennis Tiara Hobbs Brentwood tiara.hobbs@brentwood.ca
Rugby      
Track & Field Angela McLeish St. Pat’s amcleish@cisdv.bc.ca
Ultimate Shayne Pfeifer Dover Bay shayne.pfeifer@sd68.bc.ca

Updated for 2023-24

School District #61 (Greater Victoria) (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
Esquimalt 9-12 Tina Pierik Mike Thompson 382-9226 361-1263
Lambrick
9-12 Gord Mitchell Gary Baker 477-0181 477-0143
Mt. Doug 9-12 Donna Thompson Chris Ball 477-6977 477-0277
Oak Bay 9-12 Tom Aerts
Richard Fast
598-3361 598-0710
Reynolds 9-12 Aaron Norris Istvan Sitar
Courtney
Campbell
479-1696 479-6677
isitar@sd61.bc.ca
ccampbell@sd61.bc.ca
Spectrum 9-12 Bruce Bidney
Dominic Butcher 479-8271 479-8204
Victoria High 9-12 Aaron Parker
Matthew Phillips 388-5456 388-6702 maphillips@sd61.bc.ca

School District #62 (Sooke) (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
Belmont 9-12 Jim Lamond

Ken Lowe      Kris Walushka

478-5501 478-2879
Edward Milne 9-12 Laura Fulton
John Mennie 642-5211 642-7866
Royal Bay 9-12 Mike Huck Ray Barkwell & Brian Hobson
474-2377 478-2879
rbarkwill@sd62.bc.ca bhobson@sd62.bc.ca
 

School District #63 (Saanich) (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
Claremont 9-12 Peter Westhaver Darren Reisig 658-5221 658-5387
Parkland 9-12 Lizanne Chicanot Bryan Sutton 655-2700 655-2701
Stelly’s 9-12 Gord Redlin
Brad Hart
652-4401 652-4404

South Island Independent Schools (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
Brookes Westshore 8-12 Jerry Salvador
Todd Turkington
929-0506   tturkington@westshore.brookes.org
St. Andrew’s 8-12 Ciaran McLaverty (VP)
Lilly Blair
479-1414 479-5356 lblair@cisdv.bc.ca
Pacific Christian 8-12 David O’Dell John Stewart 479-4532 479-3511  john.stewart@pacificchristian.ca
St. Margaret’s 8-12 Girls Sharon Klein
Dawn Ranns
479-7171 479-8976 dranns@stmarg.ca
Glenlyon Norfolk 8-12 Glenn Zederayko Ali Doerksen/Duncan Brice 370-6823 370-6811  adoerksen@mygns.ca
dbrice@mygns.ca
St. Michaels 8-12
Eliot Anderson
Lindsay Brooke 370-6131 592-2812 lindsay.brooke@smus.ca
Victor
Brodeur
8-12 Betrand Dupain Iza Labbe 220-6010 220-6014 Iza_labbe@csf.bc.ca
Maria Montessori 8-12  Patrick Vincentine Andrew Farrell 479-4746 744-1925 mr.andrew@mariamontessoriacademy.net

School District #47 (Powell River) (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (604) Fax (604) Email
Brooks
8-12 Bill Rounis Cam Miller 483-3171 483-3127 cam.miller@sd47.bc.ca
Partners in Education 8-12 Don Fairburn Alyssa Stapleton 485-6271 485-6435 Alyssa.Stapleton@sd47.bc.ca

School District #64 (Gulf Islands) (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
Gulf Islands 9-12 Lyall Ruehlen Brittany Allan 537-9944 537-9512
Saltspring Middle 6-8 Keiko Taylor Jude Shugar 537-1159 537-4991

School District #68 (Nanaimo-Ladysmith) (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
Dover Bay 8-12 Carol Girard (Acting)
Heidi McWhinnie/Bill McWhinnie 756-4595 751-3405 hmcwhinnie@sd68.bc.ca
bmcwhinnie@sd68.bc.ca
8-12
Deb Marshall
Rob Stevenson
753-8211
753-2430

rstevenson@sd68.bc.ca
8-12
Margaret Olsen
Daryl Rodgers
245-3043
245-4333
drodgers@sd68.bc.ca
8-12
Geoff Steel Ryan Orton Graham Giske
740-2000
740-2020

rorton@sd68.bc.ca graham.giske@sd68.bc.ca 

Wellington
8-12 Chad Lintot Nicole McRae
Scott Robertson
758-9191 758-3352 nmcrae@sd68.bc.ca
srobertson@sd68.bc.ca
Cedar 8-12 Darcy Hoff Tracey Hoff 722-2414 722-3516 tracey.hoff@sd68.bc.ca

School District #69 (Qualicum) (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
Ballenas 8-12 Rudy Terpstra Daryl Britz
248-5721 954-1531 dbritz@sd69.bc.ca
Kwalikum
8-12 Lori Marshall
Barry Bevilacqua 752-5651 752-8604

School District #70 (Alberni) (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
Alberni District
8-12 Robert Souther Mike Roberts 723-6251 723-2126
Ucluelet
8-12 Carol Sedgwick Mike Rhodes 726-7796 726-7710

School District #71 (Comox Valley) (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
Cumberland 7-9 Tracey Croonen and David Mayert Jeff Vonwartburg 336-8511 336-8460 jeff.vonwartburg@sd71.bc.ca
Georges P. Vanier 8-12 Julie Shields
David Mayert
338-9262 338-1308 david.mayert@sd71.bc.ca
Highland
8-12 Dean Patterson Dillon McRae  339-5525 339-0832 dillon.mcrae@sd71.bc.ca
Lake Trail 7-9 Gerald Fussell
Sean Pattison
334-3168 338-4315
Mark Isfeld 8-12 Sean Lamoureux Colin Cunningham
334-2428
334-0659
colin.cunningham@sd71.bc.ca
North Island Distance Education  8-12 Jeff Taylor Jeff Taylor
 337-5300  337-2310 jeff.taylor@sd71.bc.ca
Au Coeur de L’île 8-12 Jeanne Musuku Delphine Guerineau
339-1848 339-1852 delphine_guerineau@csf.bc.ca

School District #72 (Campbell River) (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
Carihi Secondary 9-12 Fred Schaub
Dana Dunsmore 286-6282 286-0707
Southgate Middle 6-8 Cathy Manson Leah Kay
923-4253
923-4289
 leah.kay@sd72.bc.ca
Timberline 9-12 Jeremy Morrow Dave Hrysio 923-9500 923-9525 dave.hrysio@sd72.bc.ca
Phoenix Middle 6-8 Laird Ruehlen Neil McIntyre
287-8346
287-2302
neil.mcintyre@sd72.bc.ca

School District #79 (Cowichan Valley) (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
Chemainus 8-12 Lori Hryniuk
Casey Parsons
246-4711 246-2318
Cowichan
8-12 Charlie Coleman Wendy Charles 746-4435 746-1561 wcharles@sd79.bc.ca
Cowichan Valley Open Learning Cooperative 8-12 Scott Jackson
Justin Croswell 746-6052 746-8341 jcroswell@sd79.bc.ca
Frances Kelsey 9-12 Jeff Rowan Adrian Achurch
743-6916
743-6915
aachurch@sd79.bc.ca
Lake Cowichan 8-12 Jaime Doyle
Brent Pinnell
749-6634
749-6222
bpinnell@sd79.bc.ca
Quamichan 8-9 Nicole Boucher James Cutt
746-6168
746-4539
jcutt@sd79.bc.ca

School District #84 (Vancouver Island West) (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
Gold River 8-12 Sean Broderick Connie Chan 283-2538 283-7158

School District #85 (Vancouver Island North) (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
North Island 8-12 Jay Dixon Casey Mork 956-3394 956-2035 cmork@sd85.bc.ca
Port Hardy
8-12 Rena Sweeney Marc-Andre Gosselin 949-7443 949-2671

North Island Independent Schools (2022-23)

School Grade Level Principal Athletic Rep. Phone (250) Fax (250) Email
Aspengrove 8-12 David Thompson Sue Barzo 390-2201 390-2281 sbarzo@aspengroveschool.com
Brentwood
8-12 Bud Patel Blake Gage 743-5521 743-2911 blake.gage@brentwood.bc.ca
Campbell River Christian 8-12 Cheryl Lloyd  Shelley Berry 287-4266 297-3130 s.berry@crcs.bc.ca
Duncan Christian
8-12 Jeremy Tinsley Tom Veenstra 746-3654 642-7866 tveenstra@duncanchristian.com
Maaqtusiis 8-12 Kate Drexler
Cedar Wechlin 250-913-0379 670-9574 cedar.wechlin@ahousahted.ca
Nanaimo Christian 8-12 James Sijpheer Breanne Quist
754-4512 754-4271 breanne.quist@ncsnanaimo.com
PJ Gaglardi
8-12 Bernadette Pitcher Chris McKague 339-1200 339-1215 chris@gaglardiacademy.ca
chris@cvchristian.com
Powell River Christian 8-12 Jamie McGougan
Albert Michau
339-1200 339-1215 michau@powellriverchristian.com
 Queen Margaret’s 8-12  David Robertson Lucy Smith 746-4185 746-4187 lsmith@qms.bc.ca
Queen of Angels 8-9 Kathleen Korman        
Shawnigan Lake 8-12 Larry  Lamont Tim Murdy 743-6245 743-6200 tmurdy@shawnigan.ca
Stz’uminus   Tim Harris Brad Toporowski     Brad.Toporowski@stzuminus.com
Assumption 8-9 Lisa Berg
Lisa Berg
604-485-9894 604-485-7984 assump.office@shaw.ca
St. John’s Academy – Shawnigan Lake 4-12 John D’Arcy Travis Visscher     travis.visscher@stjohnsacademy.ca

Print Friendly, PDF & Email